Culture

Actually, this one borders more on education but that wasn’t quite it. Ya, there’s a back story.

I went to see the movie version of Le Mis the other day.
It was at the dollar theater and I really wanted to see it on the big screen. So I took this last opportunity to do so.
One member of the audience was a person who clearly had no idea what the movie was about. Or maybe even that it was a musical. She laughed rudely, made loud commentary, and finally left, singing to everyone in the audience that she was doing so.

After ruining two of the most powerful scenes in the whole movie.

At first I was incredibly pissed off.
Then I just felt sorry for her.
You see, the first time I saw Le Mis I was pretty young.
It wasn’t live or anything, just a prerecorded for PBS telethon fundraiser thing.
But it was amazing!
I was glued to the t.v. for the entire thing.
I listened to the music and knew I would always love it.
And I always have.
Sadly, I still have not seen it live. (it’s on my bucket list)
I do own the book. (I haven’t finished it yet though)
My point, however, is this…

That woman clearly did not have an understanding of this movie. She probably just thought “oh it’s that movie Anne Hathaway won an award for” and chose it based on that with no knowledge of what this movie was about. Of why Victor Hugo wrote it. Of the the suffering that the French people truly went through. Probably without knowing it was a world-famous musical and award-winning book. She just laughed at Fantines pain and sacrifice. Laughed at her death!
I feel like finding her and showing her the light.
But alas, I am sure it would be a wasted effort at best.

So I say this….

That I am glad of my early exposure to musicals.

Of the love I have for reading.

That I am curious and inquisitive.

That, not to sound snobbish, I have at least some culture.

Don’t get me wrong, there is enough white trash in me that she was lucky I did not get up and bitch her out.

I like to think I have a decent mix of the two 😀

Leave a Reply

