Freedom

Noh8_logo

This week had been an interesting one. Before the supreme court is a challenge to DOMA (Defense Of Marriage Act). Slowly many states are legalizing the right of a certain group of people in order for them to “have and to hold, forever and always, till death (or divorce) do they part.” I personally have never understood why so many people have a problem with this. Why would I care who wanted to marry whom? Outside of it being some sicko wanting to marry an underage girl or boy….
But then in some countries even that is legal….
That is a whole different debate though.
My point is this. If two people of legal and consenting age want to show that they love each other and are committed enough to publicly create a lifelong bond then why would anyone really care if they were two men or two women? I personally think that the lack of this freedom is in direct violation of the constitution. There is supposed to be a separation of church and state and, maybe I’m wrong about this but, the only arguments I’ve heard against this are all based in religion.

 

On a slightly different note….

There have been a lot of picture campaigns to go along with this moment in history and some of them are truly powerful. This is a link to my favorite.

http://iwastesomuchtime.com/on/?i=42066

 

And on an even more different note…

I would like to take a moment to say that I appreciate all the freedom that I have.

I chose my religion and am (mostly) not judged for that choice.

I chose to not officially marry my partner and am (again mostly) not judged for that choice.

I chose to obtain an education.

I chose to work instead of staying home.

When the kids were younger I did choose to stay home.

I chose to swear.

I chose my clothes.

I vote for leaders.

Makeup. Home. Car. Books. Food.

In various places throughout the world these things and more are not given as choices.

Whether this is due to being a female, a minority, the government, or some other reason.

I have these choices. I make these choices. I don’t even usually stop to realize they are freedoms.

I love that I have that.

Leave a Reply

