Donating: Time, Money, and Love

This last weekend was the first time that the city (town?) that I live in has held a Relay for Life. This is an amazing event in which people raise money for the cancer society to help fund research. We were unable to participate though due to finding out about it only a few days before the event and having been committed to another event. I do want to give everyone who participated props though! For anyone who has never done it I cant even describe how much fun it is! It’s a relay that goes from 7pm to 7am. They typically have music, food, games, and prizes at these events. Its family friendly and my kids have always had a blast. We plan on doing it next year šŸ˜€

In related news (and why I remembered about it after the long weekend) this morning I found a video about a young man who has chosen to give up his college sports career in order to donate marrow to a cancer patient that he has never met but is a 100% match for. It first showed on GMA.

That is amazing.

I love his quote about the choice being a “no brainer for any decent human being”

Because he’s right. It should an easy choice for any person to make. It isn’t always…

We need more people like him who are willing to help others before themselves. I think the world would be in a much better place if this was the majority instead selfishness and violence.

Anyway here is the link to the video that I watched…maybe I can find something better later but I have to do a lot of homework before tomorrow. One week till finals!

http://abcnews.go.com/US/university-hampshire-athlete-shortens-career-donate-bone-marrow/story?id=19022049#.UX6DG0Ao7IU

Leave a Reply

